Link Ad Adsense

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Who is the Founder of Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP)

The Bharatiya Janta Party is one of the two main leading National parties in Indian Politics. It is the second largest party in India with respect to number of MPs it has in the Parliament of India.

Lotus Symbol
BJP Symbol Lotus
Public Domain Image
History of Bharatiya Janta Party
Dr. Shyama Prasad Mookerjee founded Bharatiya Jana Sangh in 1951 against the ideology of Indian National Congress. Its main aim was to promote national integrity, unity and culture of India.

Shyama Prasad Mookerjee
Public Domain Image
Dr. Mookerjee passed away shortly in 1953 in prison during agitation demanding effective integration of Jammu and Kashmir in India, and the Bhartiya Jana Sangh fell under the leadership of young leader Deendayal Upadhyaya, who lead the party for 15 years.

Deendayal Upadhyaya
Image by Daniash007 - License CC BY 3.0
The party played a key role during Emergency period and thousands of its leaders were imprisoned during the agitation. In 1977, Bhartiya Jana Sangh merged along with many political parties to form Janta Party and formed government under the leadership of Morarji Desai. The government of Janta Party did not last long and the coalition disintegrated.

Founder of Bharatiya Janta Party
In 1980, the leaders and workers of Bhartiya Jana Sangh, founded the current day Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the first President of the Party.
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Image by Ricardo Stuckert/PR - License CC BY 3.0
List of Presidents of BJP

  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee - 1980 -1986
  • Lal Krishna Advani - 1986 - 1991
Lal Krishna Advani
Image by - License CC BY 3.0
  • Murli Manohar Joshi - 1991 - 1993
  • Lal Krishna Advani - 1993 - 1998
  • Kushabhau Thakre - 1998 - 2000
  • Bangaru Laxman - 2000 - 2001
  • Jana Krishnamurthy - 2001 - 2002
Jana Krishnamurthy
Jana Krishnamurthy
Image by Me - Public Domain

  • Venkaiah Naidu - 2002 - 2004
  • Lal Krishna Advani - 2004 - 2006
  • Rajnath Singh - 2006 - 2009
  • Nitin Gadkari - 2009 - 2013
  • Rajnath Singh - 2013 - Present

No comments:

Post a Comment