Link Ad Adsense

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Who is Narasimhan Ram

N. Ram or Narasimhan Ram is the current Editor-in-Chief of The Hindu, Frontline, The Hindu Business Line and Sportstar. He is also trustee of Asian School of Jounralism, Chennai.

N. Ram received his Bachelor in arts in the year 1964 from Loyola College, Chennai and went on receive Master’s degree in 1966 from Presidency College, 1966 and M.S. in comparative journalism from Columbia University.

N. Ram is believed to be a left wing ideologist.

He joined “The Hindu” as early in 1977 as Associate editor and climbed to level of Editor-in-Chief today. He became Editor of Hindu on June 27, 2003 replacing his brother N. Ravi.

N. Ram has been in various controversies which includes:-
  • Discontinuation of Bofors investigation in 1989 by then editor G. Kasturi which N. Ram and Chitra Subramanium were aggressively running in the newspaper. N. Ram went into public and criticized his uncle and editor Kasturi for stopping the reports. He also filed a complained against G. Kasturi to the Press council of India. The result of it was N. Ram was removed from the "The Hindu" and made in charge of magazines Frontline and Sportstar and his brother N. Ravi was made Editor.
  • In 2003, The Hindu was alleged to be going too much towards left wing philosophy in its writing, the result - N. Ravi (N. Ram's brother) being replaced as editor and N. Ram made the Editor of Hindu by board of directors.
  • In 2010, brothers of N. Ram, N.Ravi and N. Murali accuses N. Ram of backing away from his promise of retiring in 2009 after turning 65, the controversy spurs and the matter goes to Company Law Board which reinstates N. Murali as MD who was put in charge of circulation after the controversy but does not interfere in the appointments of N. Ram's family members at important positions.
  • N. Ravi brother of N. Ram accuses him of going too soft on A. Raja on 2G scam.

Awards & Recognition
  • B.D. Goenka Award for excellence in Journalism (1989)
  • Asian Investigative Journalist of the Year (1990)
  • Padma Bhushan (1990)
  • National Citizen’s Award (1995)
  • First J.R.D. Tata Award for Business Ethics (2003)
  • Sri Lanka Rathna (2005)
  • Lokmanya Tilak Journalist Award (2010)

No comments:

Post a Comment